How to be Healthy and Save Money on a Busy Day of Errands

13 Apr

Even though you’re having a busy day, your health and wellness do not need to fall to the wayside.

Anyone who has cared for young children knows that if you’re going to take them out and about, you should pack a snack and drink.  That way, when the little tyke starts getting grumpy because they’re hungry, you can pull out the snack and problem solved without having to take the time to find a restaurant to feed them.

News flash! – Kids are not the only ones who get grumpy when they’re hungry or thirsty.  Adults do too, and you are not going to be efficient and effective at getting the errands done if you can’t stop thinking about your stomach.

Why not do the same thing for yourself that you would do for your kids – pack a snack.  I hardly ever leave my house without a bottle of water – just water from my tap, why pay for water?  If I know I’ll be out for a few hours I will take a snack along too.  I usually will take some fruit or a granola bar.  That way I can avoid the temptation to stop at a fast food place where I would spend money and likely end up consuming something that is not all that healthy.  I also like the convenience of taking a snack along because if I’m already having a busy day, I don’t really want to take the time to stop and buy food.

If you do find yourself in a situation where you need to stop at a restaurant, order thoughtfully.  Fast food places will always try to sell you the meal deal.  Don’t fall for it!  They will give you a large pop with that meal – and there is never a good reason to put that into your body let alone pay good money for it.  I will just order a burger, skip the fries – too high in fat and not enjoyable if they’re not covered in salt, and ask for tap water.  If you don’t specify tap water, they will give you bottled and charge you for it.  This will cost between $1.60 to $5.00 depending on the restaurant.  That doesn’t blow the budget or the diet!

In case you’re wondering – Yes, I really am that cheap…I mean smart with my money.

Let me know what you think of this.

