Running for Wellness

10 Jun

Marahon shoes

Is running a simple way to improve your health and wellness?  When I see people out for a jog I usually think – Wow, they must be super fit to be able to do that.  When I hear friends talking about the marathon they’re training for I am even more in awe!  As you might have guessed, I am not a runner.  I walk, and sometimes think about trying running but so far I  have not been able to make the transition.

 

I think most people would agree that running is an excellent way to get aerobic activity in your life.  If a little bit of running is good for your heart and lungs, a lot of running must be better right?

 

That is up for debate.  The Aerobic Centre Longitudinal Study was conducted over a 15 year period and included 52,000 men and women.  The findings were quite interesting.  They found a 19% decrease is death rate for people who ran versus those who did not.  That part doesn’t seem that surprizing.

 

What is surprizing was that people who ran more than 20 miles per week actually had about the same risk of death as those who didn’t run at all!

 

This is great news for me, since if I ever do get into running, I am quite sure I will never run more than 20 miles per week!

 

No doubt the research on this topic will continue, one study is never enough to say anything with complete certainty, but it does give us something to think about.

If you’re interested you can read more on the not so long run at Heartwire.

Let me know what you think of this.

